You are here

Council Members

Malaysian Dietitians’ Association List Of Council Members For Year 2015/ 2017

President  : Professor Dr Winnie Chee
Vice President  : Tn. Haji Ridzoni Bin Sulaiman
Honorary Secretary  : Ms. Rozanna M Rosly
Assistant Honorary Secretary  : Dr. Zulfitri ‘Azuan Mat Daud
Honorary Treasurer  : Ms. Teong Lee Fang

Council Member 


: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nik Shanita Safii
  Ms. Ng Yee Voon
  Mr. Ng Kar Foo
  Mr. Georgen Thye Choong Jean


Introducing the 12th Council of the Malaysian Dietitians’ Association

On the 11th of June 2015, the 21th Annual General Meeting of the Malaysian Dietitians’ Association was held in Istana Hotel. MDA Members exercised their rights and elected the members of MDA 12th Council. This council will serve MDA for the term of 2015 – 2017.

The newly elected council would like to officially introduce themselves to all MDA Members and friends of the industry.


Prof. Winnie Chee Siew Swee

Prof Winnie Chee Siew Swee was one of the founder Council members of MDA in 1994 and has served as Secretary and President from 2004 to 2005. Currently re-elected as President in the 11th Council, she has 18 years’ experience as a dietitian and she currently holds a professor position at IMU. Prof Winnie Chee has contributed to research and publications in the area of renal nutrition, diabetes and bone health. She is also a member of several expert committees and chaired the latest 2013 MNT Guidelines for Type 2 Diabetes by MDA. Prof Winnie Chee is passionate about educating future dietitians and raising the standards of dietetics and making a difference to the profession.

Vice President
Tn. Haji Ridzoni bin Sulaiman

Tn Haji Ridzoni Sulaiman is one of the pioneer dietitians in the country and has served the Ministry of Health (MOH) for more than 20 years and is currently the Head of the Dietetics profession in MOH, Malaysia. Ridzoni has made significant contribution in improving the standards of dietetics and services to patients within the MOH and the community at large. He has also served MDA for many years and shares the passion to improve the competency of dietitians in the country.

Honorary Secretary
Ms. Rozanna M. Rosly

Ms Rozanna has served in the 10th and 11th Council of MDA showing her commitment to provide service to uplift the dietetics profession. Rozanna is an experienced dietitian having worked more than a decade in industry and currently is Head of Dietetics University Malaya Specialist Center. She is also an Ordinary member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, USA and Sports Dietitians Australia. Rozanna regularly contributes to the media on diet and nutrition matters.

Assistant Hon Secretary
Dr. Zulfitri ‘Azuan Mat Daud

Dr. Zulfitri is currently a senior lecturer in Universiti Putra Malaysia. He received a Registered Dietitian credential from the Commission of Dietetic Registration, the United States of America. Dr. Zulfitri is new to MDA council but he hopes that he could bring his two terms experiences serving as a board member for Southeastern Michigan Dietetic Association (SEMDA) especially towards the betterment of dietetic training and elevating level of practice of dietitian in Malaysia to be recognized as leaders in food and nutrition.

Honorary Treasurer
Ms. Teong Lee Fang

Ms Lee Fang graduated from Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) in 2011. Since then, she works as a Clinical Dietitian in Hospital Selayang until now. She has been an active MDA member as volunteer and sub-committee member for various MDA portfolios such as Community Outreach & Volunteer, Awards, Scholarships & Grants (ASG) and Continuous Professional Development (CPD), before being elected into MDA Council in 2015.

Council Member
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nik Shanita Safii

Assoc. Prof. Dr Nik Shanita Safii has started her career as a tutor in UKM since 1994. Currently, she is a lecturer and dietitian at the Dietetics program, School of Healthcare Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences, UKM. Her research interest are in Sports Nutrition (Development of Web- & Mobile-Apps: NutriSportExTM & DietScoreTM), Glycemic index of food and Nutritional Status Assessment of Specific Group. She is also an expert panel for Ministry of Human Resource (National Occupational Skill Standard (NOSS) for Sports Coaching (level 4-5), Ministry of Youth & Sports (National Coaching Academy for Sports Nutrition), Ministry of Health (Malaysian Dietary Guidelines & Recommended Nutrient Intake for Malaysians), UKM UNIPEQ (Consultant – Determination of Glycemic Index of Food), Malaysian Dietitians’ Association (Task Force on Dietetics Education (University Representative) and she received a Certificate of Equivalent of National Coaching Academy’s Sports Science Level 1, 2, and 3.

Council Member
Ms. Ng Yee Voon

Yee Voon is also a returning face to the 11th MDA Council, having served in the previous council. Yee Voon is currently Senior Dietitian at Sunway Medical Center, and a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, USA.

Council Member
Mr. Ng Kar Foo

Kar Foo is an enthusiastic member of the Council. He was graduated from International Medical University (IMU) in 2012, and worked for 2 years as a consultant dietitian in a sport supplement company. Currently he is working as a dietitian in IMU. Kar Foo has contributed to MDA especially in coordinating health events and developing resources with his team. He believes dietitians should be accesible to provide adequate nutrition care to the community.

Council Member
Mr. Georgen Thye Choong Jean

Georgen is a graduate of International Medical University (IMU) and is currently working as a dietitian at the National Heart Institute. He is also a member of the American Overseas Dietetic Association (AODA). Georgen is passionate about weight management, nutrition and health promotion, culinary art and food photography. He is new to MDA Council and he is glad to be able to serve for the betterment of the profession.